Time to Nominate for Entrepreneur of the Year

Ernst & Young LLP seeks South Central Ohio & Kentucky’s (SCOK) outstanding entrepreneurs

Nominations open for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Award as the program celebrates 25 years of inspiration

Cincinnati, OH 18 JANUARY 2010 – Ernst & Young LLP is calling for nominations for the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2011 Awards, recognized as one of the most prestigious business award programs in the country. The deadline for Nominations is March 18, 2011, with the SCOK awards ceremony scheduled for June 30 at the Cincinnati Hyatt Regency.

The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards program will celebrate its 25th anniversary this year. Over the past quarter-century, the program has honored the inspirational leadership of entrepreneurs such as Jeff Bezos of Amazon.com, Michael Dell of Dell, Herb Kelleher of Southwest Airlines, Fred Smith of FedEx, Larry Page and Sergey Brin of Google, Richard Schulze of Best Buy, Wayne Huizenga of Huizenga Holdings (Blockbuster Video, Waste Management, Inc., and AutoNation), and many more.

“We’ve been extraordinarily proud to honor men and women who have had the inspiration to create innovative, market-leading companies that have truly changed the world over the 25-year history of our Entrepreneur Of The Year program,” said Bryan Pearce, Americas Director of the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® program. “We believe entrepreneurs are the lifeblood and foundation of our economy. It’s very exciting to think about the impact that entrepreneurs and transformational CEOs will have on the way we live and work over the next 25 years as well.”

Award winners are selected by a panel of independent judges, including previous winners of the award, leading CEOs and private capital investors and other regional business leaders.

The Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards in South Central Ohio & Kentucky
Last year, 9 entrepreneurs in 8 categories were selected as Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® award winners from more than 60 nominations.
“This program honors the outstanding entrepreneurs in our area,” said Alan Greenwell, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® Program Director for SCOK. “These entrepreneurs make our community a better place by providing jobs, developing new products and services, and encouraging economic development. They deserve our support and recognition.”

Nationally, approximately 250 entrepreneurs from across the nation were selected as Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® 2010 award winners from more than 1,500 nominations. Past award winners have included Howard Schultz of Starbucks Coffee Company, Arthur M. Blank of AMB Group, LLC (Home Depot, Atlanta Falcons), Pierre Omidyar of eBay, Inc., Ruth Fertel of Ruth’s Chris, Maxine Clark of Build-a-Bear, Tom Adams of Rosetta Stone, Matt Szulik of Red Hat, and last year’s national winner, Howard Lutnick of BGC Partners and Cantor Fitzgerald.

The Entrepreneur Of The Year® program honors entrepreneurs regionally in June, leading up to the national awards in November. Venture-backed companies that win an Entrepreneur Of The Year® award regionally are also eligible for the special Venture Capital Award of Excellence on a national level. The overall national US winner then moves on to compete for the World Entrepreneur Of The Year title in Monaco in June. Entrepreneurs are nominated and evaluated by those in each region, including local business and community leaders.

All regional honorees are invited to the national Entrepreneur Of The Year® gala, hosted by Jay Leno, on November 12, 2011 in Palm Springs, California. The gala is the culminating event of the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum®, the nation’s most prestigious gathering of high-growth, market-leading companies. For more information on the Ernst & Young Strategic Growth Forum, please visit http://www.ey.com/us/strategicgrowthforum.

Awards Criteria

Awards are given to entrepreneurs who have demonstrated excellence and extraordinary success in such areas as innovation, financial performance, and personal commitment to their businesses and communities. Self-nominations are encouraged, and there is no fee. Nomination forms must be received by March 18, 2011.

Entrepreneurs eligible for consideration include not only company founders, but also leaders of multi-generation family businesses and transformational public and private company CEOs. Additionally, the nominee’s company must be at least three years old.


Founded and produced by Ernst & Young LLP, the Entrepreneur Of The Year® Awards are nationally sponsored by the Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation.
In South Central Ohio & Kentucky local sponsors include Gold Sponsor Frost Brown Todd LLC, Media Sponsor The Business Courier/Columbus Business First/Louisville Business First and Silver Sponsor Thompson Hine LLP.

About Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur Of The Year®

Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur Of The Year® is the world’s most prestigious business award for entrepreneurs. The award makes a difference through the unique way it encourages entrepreneurial activity among those with potential and recognizes the contribution of people who inspire others with their vision, leadership and achievement. As the first and only truly global award of its kind, Ernst & Young Entrepreneur Of The Year® celebrates those who are building and leading successful, growing and dynamic businesses, recognizing them through regional, national and global awards programs in more than 135 cities in 50 countries.


Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s